Curriculum for Wales

A Guide to the new Curriculum for Wales.

Curriculum for Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in a changing world.

Curriculum for Wales

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives;
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work;
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world;
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16;
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence;
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16;
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (Welsh, English and modern foreign languages);
  • Mathematics and Numeracy
  • Science and Technology (including computer science).

These links will help you understand how the new Curriculum for Wales works and how it will help your child you learn.

sponsor logos noddwyr

Bookmark and Share

Privacy Notice
© 2023 - Ysgol Llanbedrog ~ Website by Delwedd